For release:            Immediately
Contact:                    Anne Rigney, 610-526-2536,  

FSP Foundation Awards Paul S. Mills Scholarships

Newtown Square, PA – The Foundation for Financial Service Professionals announced the recipients of seven $1,000 Paul S. Mills Scholarships.  This annual scholarship program provides needs-based scholarships to students pursuing an undergraduate degree in a financial service related field. 

The 2014 recipients are:
James Backer, Arvada, CO                                    Metropolitan State University of Denver
Lisa Marie Hellen, Royal Oak, MI                                                       Wayne State University
Nadege Severe, Immokalee, FL                                               Florida Gulf Coast University
Shayana Singleton, Philadelphia, PA                                                     Neumann University
Amber Veith, Waunakee, WI                                                                 Upper Iowa University
Kristina Velasquez, Merrimack, NH                                               Plymouth State University
Emily Weiland, Imler, PA                                                                        Penn State University

Foundation Board Chair April Caudill, JD, CLU, ChFC, commented on the difficulty of selecting just seven recipients out of a pool of 130 extremely qualified candidates.  She stated that “the strong work ethic and commitment to education of these young men and women is extraordinary.” 

Established in 1982, the scholarship program honors the late Paul Mills, CLU, the second executive vice president of the Society.  Since its inception, the program has awarded in excess of $260,000 in scholarship funds.

The Foundation for Financial Service Professionals, the charitable arm of the Society of Financial Service Professionals, fosters research, education and ethical practices amongst financial service professionals to benefit the public. More information is available at


Click here for previous Paul S. Mills Scholarship Recipients